2018 Crystal Apple “Excellence in Education” Award Winners


The following are the 2018 Crystal Apple Award winners for Umatilla and Morrow counties:

InterMountain ESD

  • Deirdre Bradley (School Psychologist)
  • Monica Harris (ECAT & Educational Assistant, Early Intervention/Early Childhood Special Education)
  • Donna Remmick (Occupational Therapist)
  • Danielle Sackett (Autism Consulting Assistant)

Morrow County

  • Tom Gates (Custodian, Ione Community School)
  • Chelsea Matheny (3rd Grade Teacher, Ione Community School)

Morrow County School District

  • Tracie Bunch (Department Secretary, Heppner Jr/Sr High School)
  • Sarah Christy (1st Grade Teacher, Sam Boardman Elementary School)
  • Betsy Shane (Math Teacher, Riverside Jr/Sr High School)
  • Amy Stringer (Counselor, A.C. Houghton/Irrigon Elementary Schools)

Umatilla County

  • Amber Doremus (6th Grade Teacher, Weston Middle School)
  • Rachael Olson (4th Grade Teacher, Weston Middle School)

Echo School District

  • Kristi Armstrong (Transportation, Echo School District)
  • Rick Thew (5th Grade Teacher, Echo Elementary School)

Helix School District

  • Ken Campbell (Bus Driver, Helix School District)
  • McKennon McDonald (Special Ed/Title 1/P.E. Teacher, Helix School District)

Milton-Freewater Unified School District

  • Kari Ferguson (Lead Secretary, Freewater Elementary School)
  • Maria Gonzalez (Office Specialist, District Office)
  • Debra Martinez (English Learner Program Teacher, Ferndale Elementary School)
  • Carlos Ruvalcaba (5th Grade Teacher, Freewater Elementary School)

Pendleton School District 

  • Maria Davis (Special Education Teacher, Washington Elementary School)
  • Aimee Gunter (Paraprofessional, McKay Creek Elementary School)
  • Ken Jacobs (Technical Ed/Industrial Teacher, Sunridge Middle School)
  • Jewel Kennedy (Science Teacher, Nixya’awii Community School)

Pilot Rock School District

  • Marcy Jerome (2nd Grade Teacher, Pilot Rock Elementary School)
  • Marion Schuening (Educational Assistant, Pilot Rock Jr/Sr High School)

Stanfield School District

  • Frank Longhorn (Facilities Manager, Stanfield School District)
  • Mike Sanders (Agriculture/Industrial Arts Teacher, Stanfield Secondary School)

Ukiah School District

  • Linda Kerr (Secretary, Ukiah School)

Umatilla School District

  • Monica Anderson (Operational Assistant, Umatilla High School)
  • Pam Bissonette (Alternative Education Teacher, Umatilla High School)


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here