Boardman City Council Renews Development Incentives


In an effort to encourage new construction in Boardman, the Boardman City Council passed a resolution that temporarily waives water and sewer system development charges (SDC’s).

The resolution waives the SDC’s on a sliding scaled based upon the number of Equivalent Dwelling Units built. The waivers are for a six-month period beginning Jan. 1, 2018 and runs through June 30, 2018. All property owners or developers of residential or commercial property within the city limits are eligible for the waivers.

This incentive was first passed in 2011 for residential customers only, and since then the council has passed a resolution each year allowing the waiver of SDC’s for all construction within the residential or commercial districts. Sixty projects have qualified for the SDC waivers in the past six years, and the city hopes many more will take advantage of this year’s incentive.

In other city business, the council held a hearing regarding annexation of Port of Morrow property into the city limits. Councilor Del Turner was nominated council president for 2018. The council appointed Lori Moss to the Boardman Budget Committee to finish a vacant term ending December 2019. They also reappointed Lisa Mittelsdorf, Julie Gisi and Ted Lieurance to the Boardman Budget Committee and reappointed Zack Barressee and Ryan Kreps to the Boardman Planning Commission; all will serve 3-year terms.

The next Boardman City Council meeting will be Tuesday, Feb. 6 at 7 p.m. at Boardman City Hall.