Education Service District Announces Winners of Annual Spelling Contest


Students from school districts in Morrow, Umatilla and Union counties participated in the InterMountain Education Service District’s Spelling Contest on Monday, May 6 at Blue Mountain Community College. The IMESD sponsors the spelling contests for each county every year.

A total of 35 students participated. Those who competed in the IMESD county contest had already won a spelling contest in their division at their schools. There are three divisions: Division 1 (1st-5th grades), Division 2 (6th-8th grades) and Division 3 (9th-12th grades).

At the contests, students took a 35-word written test. First through third places were selected in each of the three divisions. An awards ceremony immediately followed, with winners receiving medals. The first place winner from each division is invited to participate in the state competition, which occurs on the Saturday of Labor Day weekend in Salem at the Oregon State Fair.

“IMESD congratulates all of our spelling contest winners and thanks all of the students who devoted time to compete this year,” said Lizette Berryessa, IMESD spelling contest coordinator.

For more information about the spelling contest, contact Berryessa at 541-966-3126.

Morrow County Winners

Division 1

1st Place: Rafael Sepulveda, Windy River Elementary (Morrow County SD)

2nd Place: Jackson Hobbs, A.C. Houghton Elementary (Morrow County SD)

3rd Place: Lane Critchlow, Heppner Elementary (Morrow County SD)

Division 2

1st Place: Stephanie Booher, Riverside Jr/Sr High School (Morrow County SD)

2nd Place: John Lindsay, Heppner Elementary (Morrow County SD)

3rd Place: Gaven Harwood, Windy River Elementary (Morrow County SD)

Division 3

1st Place: Emma Rietmann, Ione Community School (Ione SD)

2nd Place: Angel Flores Rosas, Riverside High School (Morrow County SD)

3rd Place:

Umatilla County Winners

Division 1

1st Place: Adriel Ibarra, Stanfield Elementary (Stanfield SD)

2nd Place: Kacey Cooper, Washington Elementary (Pendleton SD)

3rd Place: Hazel Case, McKay Creek Elementary (Pendleton SD)

Division 2

1st Place: Yadira Diaz-Lara, Central Middle School (Milton-Freewater Unified SD)

2nd Place: Malaya Stanger, Sunridge Middle School (Pendleton SD)

3rd Place: Killian Clements, Clara Brownell Middle School (Umatilla SD)

Division 3

1st Place: Ricardo Pena, Ukiah High School (Ukiah SD)

2nd Place: Michael Kerr, Ukiah High School (Ukiah SD)


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here