Two BMCC Students Selected to 2024 All-Oregon Academic Team


Oregon Community College Association announced the selection of 55 members from community colleges across the state to the 2024 All-Oregon Academic Team (AOAT).

Among those selected are two students from Blue Mountain Community College – Chad Doherty of Heppner and Matthew Millhaem of Umatilla.

These student scholars are selected for their academic excellence, leadership, and community service, and many are members of Phi Theta Kappa, the nation’s community college honor society.

Congratulations to these outstanding scholars for their exceptional achievements in academics, leadership, and community service,” said OCCA Board President Jane Ried. “We eagerly anticipate honoring them at the upcoming luncheon to recognize their accomplishments.”

Each year, Phi Theta Kappa, community college presidents, and community college state associations like OCCA sponsor All-State Community College Academic Team ceremonies in 37 participating states. OCCA will host the All-Oregon Academic Team Luncheon April 19 at Chemeketa Community College’s Eola Center in Salem, Ore., to honor AOAT students and their families. The AOAT luncheon’s keynote speaker is Representative Tawna Sanchez (D-Portland), who is a strong advocate for education.

In addition, the OCCA Member Services Committee selects several students from the 55 outstanding scholars to serve as speakers at the recognition luncheon. This year’s speakers include Chad Doherty of Blue Mountain Community College, Kayla Kelly of Treasure Valley Community College, Salome Alford of Columbia Gorge Community College, and Jessica “Jay” Benke of Mt. Hood Community College.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here