Educators, School Employees Honored with Crystal Apple Awards


A dozen educators/school district employees from Morrow County and west Umatilla County were recognized with 2023 Crystal Apple Excellence in Education Awards.

The InterMountain Education Service District presented the 23rd annual ceremony May 16 at the Pendleton Convention Ceremony. A total of 33 Crystal Apples were presented in recognition of outstanding administrators, teachers, educational assistants and office/building staff in school districts the ESD in Umatilla and Morrow counties serves.

ECHO — Michelle Mack, educational assistant, Echo Elementary School; Jenny Thomas, registrar, Echo School District.

STANFIELD — Megan Cline, kindergarten teacher, Stanfield Elementary School; Emily Galindo, secretary, Stanfield Elementary School.

UMATILLA — Sandi Taylor, educational assistant, Umatilla High School; Stephanie Williams-Strege, STEAM Academy director, Umatilla School District.

IONE — Ann Clabaugh, instructional aide, Ione School District; Suzie Skirvin, special education teacher, Ione School District.

MORROW COUNTY — Dave Fowler, technology education teacher, Morrow County School District; Yadira Gomez, CARE coordinator, Sam Boardman Elementary School; Maggie Scanlan, sixth grade teacher, Windy River Elementary School; Debbie White, educational assistant/Title 1, Irrigon Elementary School.

IMESD staff were among the recipients: Leslie Gissel, speech pathology assistant, Speech-Language Pathology Department; Brie Miles-Brache, EI/ECSE specialist, Early Intervention/Early Childhood Special Education Department; Michele Madril, director of communication, Communication and Print Solutions Department; Janelle Neitch, EI/ECSE referral specialist, screener and ECAT assistant, Early Intervention/Early Childhood Special Education Department; Jennifer Pambrun, initiatives coordinator, Instructional Services Department.

Each year, administrators, coworkers, parents, students and community members submit Crystal Apple nominations during a two-month period. The school district’s administration selects the winners. For more information, including a link to past winners, visit


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here