Lexington’s Katie Imes Appointed to Energy Facility Siting Council


Lexington Town Council member Katie Imes has been appointed to the state’s Energy Facility Siting Council.

Imes was appointed by Gov. Tina Kotek and confirmed by the Oregon Senate for a term beginning Feb. 16 through June 20, 2027.

Katie Imes

“I am honored to join the other members of the Council for this critical work of reviewing potential energy facilities in Oregon,” Imes said.

Imes will join current council members Marcy Grail, Kent Howe, Perry Chocktoot, Cindy Condon, Ann Beier, and Richard Devlin. According to the Oregon Department of Energy, members are selected to understand, evaluate, and deliberate complex issues associated with proposed energy facilities under state jurisdiction and how those facilities affect Oregonians, the environment, and nearby communities.

“It is vital that we carefully consider future energy facilities to ensure they meet the region’s needs, meet Oregon’s standards, and minimize negative effects on Oregonians and our state’s natural resources,”  Imes said.

Imes, who grew up in Umatilla and Hood River counties, has a long background in community involvement. Along with serving on the town council, Imes is a member of the county’s Cultural Coalition. She has also served on the Morrow County Public Transit Advisory Committee and worked as a county Public Transit Manager.

The Energy Facility Siting Council has the authority to approve or deny site certificates to allow applicants to construct and operate an energy facility. If a site certificate is granted, the council has ongoing regulatory authority over the construction and operation of the facility, according to the energy department. The council also regulates the transportation of radioactive materials through Oregon, the disposal of radioactive materials within the state’s borders, and the decommissioning of the Trojan Nuclear Power Plant.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here