USDA Designates Local Counties as Disaster Areas


Umatilla and Morrow counties are among those designated by the U.S. Department of Agriculture (USDA) as primary natural disaster areas in three separate designations.

“Our hearts go out to those Oregon farmers and ranchers affected by recent natural disasters,” said Agriculture Secretary Tom Vilsack. “President Obama and I are committed to ensuring that agriculture remains a bright spot in our nation’s economy by sustaining the successes of America’s farmers, ranchers and rural communities through these difficult times. We’re also telling Oregon producers that USDA stands with you and your communities when severe weather and natural disasters threaten to disrupt your livelihood.”

The USDA has designated three counties in Oregon as primary natural disaster areas due to damages caused by freezing temperatures that occurred April 8-30, 2013.

Those counties are Baker, Umatilla and Union counties. Farmers and ranchers in Grant, Malheur, Morrow and Wallowa counties also qualify for natural disaster assistance because their counties are contiguous. Those counties are:

The USDA has also designated Grant and Morrow counties as primary natural disaster areas due to damages and losses caused by freezing temperatures and extreme heat that occurred April 8–May 13, 2013.

Farmers and ranchers in several counties, including Umatilla County, also qualify for natural disaster assistance because their counties are contiguous.

All counties listed above were designated natural disaster area on Oct. 1, making all qualified farm operators in the designated areas eligible for low-interest emergency (EM) loans from USDA’s Farm Service Agency (FSA), provided eligibility requirements are met. Farmers in eligible counties have eight months from the date of the declaration to apply for loans to help cover part of their actual losses. FSA will consider each loan application on its own merits, taking into account the extent of losses, security available and repayment ability. FSA has a variety of programs, in addition to the EM loan program, to help eligible farmers recover from adversity.

Additional programs available to assist farmers and ranchers include the Emergency Conservation Program, Federal Crop Insurance, and the Noninsured Crop Disaster Assistance Program. Interested farmers may contact their local USDA Service Centers for further information on eligibility requirements and application procedures for these and other programs. Additional information is also available online at the USDA website.

Vilsack also reminds producers that Congress has not funded the five disaster assistance programs authorized by the 2008 Farm Bill. These are SURE; the Livestock Indemnity Program (LIP); the Emergency Assistance for Livestock, Honey Bees, and Farm-Raised Fish (ELAP); the Livestock Forage Disaster Program (LFP); and the Tree Assistance Program (TAP). Production losses due to disasters occurring after Sept. 30, 2011, are not eligible for disaster program coverage.